Missouri State High School Soccer Coaches Inaugural Hall-of-Fame

2012 MSHSSCA Hall of Fame
Bottom row: Maureen McVey, Mrs. Ebbie Dunn, Mrs. Robert Horgan
Back row: Mike Villa, Dave Robben, Tim Richardson, Vince Nowak, Joe Cummings (NSCAA CEO), Rich Bahner, Terry Michler, Greg Vitello, Vince Drake

Congratulations to the Inaugural Hall-of-Fame Class of the Missouri State High School Soccer Coaches Association. The group was honored at the first Recognition Banquet on January 5th in Columbia, drawing a crowd from the entire state that required Chris Miller, President of the organization and coach of the Class 1 Finalists at Southern Boone, to rent a larger space. The feedback I’ve received has been very positive, such as this below shared with Coach Miller

It was a wonderful event. Congratulations! You must be exhausted, having organized two banquets. I hope the players in attendance appreciated the monumental level of coaching talent and soccer history represented in that room on Saturday. I had a professor who called that opportunity, “standing in the shadows of the giants.”

If you attended the event, I’d love to hear your thoughts and share one or two of your photos as part of this story. Send it to Ole@SoccerSTL.net.

The Missouri State High School Soccer Coaches Association has announced its first class of Hall of Fame inductees. CBC coach and boys national high school soccer wins leader Terry Michler highlights the 2013 Inaugural MSHSSCA Hall of Fame Class. Trinity’s Vince Drake has a Missouri record ten state titles and along with Oakville’s Dave Robben have each won over 1,000 high school games between boys and girls soccer careers, while DeSmet’s Greg Vitello has over 700 boys wins and five state championships. Villa won seven titles during a dominant Vianney run in the 1980’s and 90’s. Posthumous inductees Ebbie Dunn and Bob Horgan were prominent coaches in the St. Louis early days while building SLUH and CBC, respectively, into national powerhouses. St. Joe’s Academy’s Maureen McVey has long been a successful girls coach in the state and is on the National Federation Soccer Advisory Committee, while Howell North’s Vince Nowak, who retired two years ago, was a consistent winner and tireless worker and promoter of the game within the state and the NSCAA. Sacred Heart’s Rich Bahner gets in based on his long and successful career at the small school in “out-state” Missouri. Lee’s Summit North’s Tim Richardson also makes the cut for his work building elite teams on the Kansas City side.

The Inductees:
Terry Michler (CBC) – 870 wins Leads all high school coaches in the country. 8 titles in 42 years
Vince Drake (Trinity) – 730 boys wins, 308 girls, 44 years (12 titles)
Greg Vitello (DeSmet) – 735 wins, 40 years (5 titles)
Ebbie Dunn (SLUH) – 592 wins, 28 years, (2 titles) (deceased)
Bob Horgan (CBC/Affton)- 571 wins, 28 years (1 title) (deceased)
Maureen McVey (St. Joseph’s Academy) – 501 wins, 27 years, several girls championships
Dave Robben (Oakville) – 469 boys wins, 548 girls wins in 34 years (2 titles)
Mike Villa (Vianney) – 7 state titles before moving to Triad (IL) H.S.
Vince Nowak (Francis Howell North)- 405 boys wins in 24 seasons
Rich Bahner (Sedalia Sacred Heart)- 359 wins in 26 seasons; 36 girls wins in 6 seasons
Tim Richardson (Lee’s Summit North)- 434 boys wins in 27 seasons and 291 in girls in 16 seasons, several final fours and two state girls championships.